Real Nuggets of Genius

I had grand plans for this weekend.

I was going to finish the Taco Truck Crawl entry I have in draft stages
upload photos from the Bivalve throwdown
help out at a wedding
attend a party
and probably bring about world peace.

Instead
I was up in Austin for the weekend
playing a key role in Project: Distraction.

One of my younger sisters is in a miserable spot right now
so I decided that she needed some silliness
noise
and a shoulder to lean on if she needed it.

I couldn’t and can’t help her in any other way
even by making her food.

She can’t hold down much right now
save for some Ensure drinks
so I felt incapacitated all weekend.

Nothing like feeling helpless while a loved one suffers.

I have NOT had the problem of being unable to eat.
I think I Hoover up everything as I go past it.

My waist, thighs, and hiney are not very happy about it
so this week I’ve tried to incorporate several truly healthy meals.

I say ‘truly’
becaue I’ve got a split pea soup and a butternut squash galette on the menu
that both sound healthy
but I know a soup loaded with savory chunks of pork
and a galette with a tender yeast crust are not all that great for a diet.

I am not on a diet
lest I give you the wrong impression
but those are not things that will help keep me in shape.

To counter the faux-healthy meals
I will be making fattoush with a puckery lemon dressing one night
as well as a low fat turkey meatloaf another night.

It’s taken me 25 years to finally accept ground turkey as an acceptable stand-in
on some occasions
for ground beef.

Cook’s Illustrated uses 93% lean turkey in a few low fat recipes
and they took my by surprise at how good some of the ground turkey recipes are.

Bearing that in mind while the Beef Lover in me screams
“TRAITOR!”
I’ll give their turkey meatloaf a shot
and throw some mashed carrots and steamed broccoli on the side as well.

Even though I will be trying to refocus on healthy eating this week
tomorrow is Monday
which means Cakeday.

I was thinking about doing a dobos torte
but I am beat from the weekend
so I think I will try something less time consuming.

I’ve picked it out already
and most of the elements are not new
so I am putting off making it until tomorrow.

This could be a very bad thing
or it could turn out like the last time I did that
which was carroty-goodness-overload.

I made a carrot cake in only a few hours and had none left to bring home.

That’s a good thing.
That’s my goal with my cake-a-week.
I don’t always make that goal
but it is what I strive for.

If I keep having cake to bring home
then I’ll end up with a bajillion little pieces of cake.

I don’t know what to do with a bajillion little pieces of cake.
Maybe put it in ice cream?

:crickets:

…WHY DIDN’T I THINK OF THAT BEFORE!?

I need to write more often if these nuggets of GENIUS are what come of it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

